|| an aabir basu blog ||
you're reading...
Random Thoughts, Story

The secret

Taking the center position in a conference table doesn’t grant you the unsolicited privilege to dominate a discussion. It merely allows you the front row access to participants’ jestural expressions. In popular culture the seat is commonly reserved for the benefactor (host). Here I was, being bombarded by the attendants, so, in a crude allegorical sense I deserved to occupy the seat, for they were all having the better of me.

What I was and stood for was in direct contrast with that of these grey wigs. They were rich and old and saturated; I was hungry and energetic. I could bet my money on their refusal of me , but I have no more money to gamble, and over the years I have come to understand it that I am not good at gambling anyway. My biographies will call me a prolific risktaker but a bad gambler.

When all speak at once what can one possibly hear. I tried to summarise my whole prepared dialogue in one feeble attempt.

“I am simply trying to take this corporation to the height that my father had once dreamt of….”

They wouldn’t let me complete. My faint voice dwindled in all the noise. My legal advisor had prepared me a pretty speech which I will surely recollect when I get sober. He had taken caution to include clauses and specific sub sections and purposefully planted legal loopholes, ones that you only get to know of when you pay half your fortune on one visit. Yet, its not too unfair after all judging by the sagacious advices that he pays in return. One in particular I remembered still. I was not to improvise.
My left eye started twitching. I had to play my final card. Desperate times call for no small measure of anxiety. As I got up to speak, I choked, my face muscles froze and my fingers slightly tingled. “I should have let everybody know this much earlier, but the time now is ripe, so I may now disclose the secret to you, which father.. “;I took a dramatic pause right at this word to mark their suspense. Gesturing at his photo hung in one dingy corner of the room, I proceeded “.. Mr Gazi, peace be upon him, had hidden from you”.

So long, I may have left the impression of a novice in corporate affairs, but anybody who willingly diacloses a hush hush secret gets a lot of audience attention, so did I. The challenge here would be to retain that interest and channelise that to one’s benefits. My challenge was tougher by many folds, I had to invent a secret.

“I am happy to announce that we have discovered the philosopher’s stone. A certain confidential research has shown promise on its life-stock tests, it may soon be patented and marketed. They say its a anti-aging drug but I am a bit conservative, lets just call CTX232M a rejuvenating supplement.”

I was listening for the silence, it loudly pronounced my victory, so far so good.

Aami Aabir

About Aami Aabir

Aabir Basu is a North Kolkata-bred bearded and spectacled Bengali Bhodrolok. He has a master’s degree in Business Administration and is currently employed in some IT company. Aabir writes blogs about life, religion, photo-blogs, politics, short stories, one liner quotes and everything else. Please share your feedback with your comments. Click here for more

Discussion

No comments yet.

Please share your views ...

Catagories

Month wise Blog-roll

People who took notice:

  • 3,011 Lives touched

My BlogRoll

I Me Myself : Aabir Basu

Picture1

Aabir Basu is a North Kolkata-bred bearded and spectacled Bengali Bhodrolok. He is on the right side of his thirties and is married to his teenage sweetheart. He has a master’s degree in Business Administration and is currently employed in some IT company. Aabir is an artist at heart: cartoonist, photographer, painter, movie buff, poetry enthusiast, lullaby story-teller, bathroom singer, religious philosopher and photo manipulator. He believes in creativity and breaking out of the cliché. Aabir's life is characterized by trying to spend a peaceful life while doing what he loves or trying to love what he does (that's too many trying in one sentence). Aabir writes blogs about life, religion, photo-blogs, politics, short stories, one liner quotes and everything else.

Please share your feedback with your comments. Click here for more

Follow The Hat is paramount on WordPress.com
