|| an aabir basu blog ||
you're reading...
Regular Life

The revealation

Let me tell you a funny thing about love; they say in love you take 99 punches to get one rose, and then one day the rose just stops coming.

The day notifications didn’t come, I was stupified, such a thing is life. Only a week back I wasn’t even aware of its existence and here I was today so eagerly waiting for one notification.

I had been quite busy at office today, didn’t find much time to blog, but one fact I noticed was that there were no notifications from WordPress in my mobile. That was a Blogging disaster. I have only joined wordpress recently and been blogging on a regular basis since.  There were loads of appreciations coming from absolute strangers, I was an immediate success, or so I felt. Receiving 20+ follows and 50+ likes in 5 days, I felt that Blogging was my thing, I was a superstar. Yet, that was not to be. Today’s dull phase ensured that I corrected my expectations and went back to the drawing board, so I did.

I am so ignorant I am not even aware if 20 follows in 5 days is good or bad. I guess its just OK, considering most people I find have tons of followers, I am only a novice and apologetic that I am a late-commer. Before I stumbled upon wordpress one day, I have to accept that I hadn’t had much idea of blogging beyond Facebook (I do no networking, I just check other people’s statuses and like some) and Twitter (I donot use that much). FB has outlived its utility I feel, it has become far more personal and serious to live than it ought to be. At such a juncture I discovered WordPress, some 4 months back. Actually, I had gone through a number of such sites yet was unaware that I could have one just like this. When I did, I felt no need to have one. “What do I need a website for? What am I selling anyways?” most people will say that, I didn’t think so differently either. Then one day while lecturing a friend I proposed he should write a blog to vent his feelings. So intelligent of a skeptic to do so. And another day a friend of mine wanted to buy a domain on this name, I wondered what he needed it for. Another day, out of no where I was reminded of a friend from college who wrote his own life stories in his blog. It is as if the internet was conspiring to instill in me the idea of a blog. When I typed on the search engine “How to create a blog” I was determined a have one. By the way, the moment I type how to on Google, the first suggestion says “How to Kiss”, but I digress.

It was not a planned move, I wanted to have a site, no names chosen, no background work, no idea what to use it for, but I had to have it. Then, alighted the brilliant idea of posting my photo-clicks. Writing an odd story wasn’t odd in a blog. I come  up with odd one-liners often in my mind, may be I could jot them down; and how ‘bout daily journal? I welcomed myself to this one-act soliloque. This was getting interesting; I was a blogger at heart now.

First post, trial, test post, deletion, theme change, photo upload, subsequent removal, setting names, tags, changing them, reading, writing, again deleting… this was a new grown interest. FB could take a poop, this was my thing! I was finally being myself in a world where I always had to be politically correct.

It had to change, hadn’t it? It did. Did the novelty washed out? No. Did nobody read me? Not really. Actually people did. That was the trouble. The space which I thought was private wasn’t actually private, there were actual people who read them, liked them, commented and followed you. Wait a minute, did you just say follow? Go on, I am listening. That’s right, there were actual followers and boy did it feel good. There was an absolute stranger to me and my ways who was ardently waiting for me to speak something to myself.  Take a bow, Aabir, you are a leader now, A Hero of Web Town.

Blogging got a brand new meaning to me. I was suddenly directly inspired by by followers’ opinion of me, blogging stuffs that are populist, that attract more Likes, as if it actually matters, as if you win a Bit Coin or something. (BTW my friend tried explaining the BitCoin concept to me, I couldn’t follow, I guess its something GOOD)

However, I invested most of my time updating my web page and decorating it. I enjoy that a lot. Soon I intend to introduce FLAT ICONS here, as is supposedly the in thing now. As a photoshoping enthusiast I enjoyed the limited web designing opportunity. If anybody has read this far, this is where you come into picture. Please comment on how the website is looking, is it too flashy, jazzy (my boss loves this word, he always uses it)? Please please please give your feedback.

So, back to basics (that was my Orkut title, LOL), need to have a relook at what I have been doing wrong and correct them. One good thing about this blog is that I started writing short stories again, I just get vague ideas, phrases, dialogues etc. in my mind and write very short stories out of that. Yesterday I wrote a longer Short Story, ironically that didn’t get much of a thumbs up, so I guess its safe to stick to lesser content.

So, I will keep blogging and hoping that others appreciate.

About Aami Aabir

Aabir Basu is a North Kolkata-bred bearded and spectacled Bengali Bhodrolok. He has a master’s degree in Business Administration and is currently employed in some IT company. Aabir writes blogs about life, religion, photo-blogs, politics, short stories, one liner quotes and everything else. Please share your feedback with your comments. Click here for more

Discussion

No comments yet.

Please share your views ...

Catagories

Month wise Blog-roll

People who took notice:

  • 3,057 Lives touched

My BlogRoll

I Me Myself : Aabir Basu

Picture1

Aabir Basu is a North Kolkata-bred bearded and spectacled Bengali Bhodrolok. He is on the right side of his thirties and is married to his teenage sweetheart. He has a master’s degree in Business Administration and is currently employed in some IT company. Aabir is an artist at heart: cartoonist, photographer, painter, movie buff, poetry enthusiast, lullaby story-teller, bathroom singer, religious philosopher and photo manipulator. He believes in creativity and breaking out of the cliché. Aabir's life is characterized by trying to spend a peaceful life while doing what he loves or trying to love what he does (that's too many trying in one sentence). Aabir writes blogs about life, religion, photo-blogs, politics, short stories, one liner quotes and everything else.

Please share your feedback with your comments. Click here for more

Follow The Hat is paramount on WordPress.com
